Skip to main content Skip to site footer

SAFEGUARDING

Wigan Athletic Football Club acknowledges and accepts it has a responsibility for the well being and safety of all children and vulnerable adults who are under the club's care or utilising its facilities. It is the duty of all adults working at Wigan Athletic to safeguard the welfare of children and vulnerable adults by creating an environment that protects them from harm.

The wellbeing of children and vulnerable adults is paramount for all staff and accordingly, they must make themselves aware of the football club's Safeguarding Children Policy and Vulnerable Adults Policy. Where appropriate, the following guidelines will be supplemented by in-service training and additional guidance.

To download our safeguarding policy, please click here.

Wigan Athletic Safeguarding Team Contact Details:

Internal

Head of Safeguarding
(All of Company)

Louise Kerrigan
Tel: 01942 770480 / 07703 822660
E: safeguarding@wiganathletic.com

Safeguarding Officer
(All of Company)
Hayley Abbas
Tel: 07894 402681
E: H.Abbas@wiganathletic.com
Desiganted Safeguarding Officers
(Wigan Athletic Community Trust)
Hayley Sherratt & Tom Drake
Tel: 01942 824599
E: H.Sherratt@wiganathletic.com
Desiganted Safeguarding Officer
(Wigan Athletic Academy)
Mike Hurn
Tel: 01942 497870
E: M.Hurn@wiganathletic.com
Designated Safeguarding Officer & Safety Officer
(DW Stadium Matchdays)
Shaun Currie
Tel: 01942 774000 (Ext. 2089)
E: S.Currie@dwstadium.com

Desiganted Safeguarding Officer
(DW Stadium Non-Matchdays)
Ben Fidler
Tel: 01942 774000 (Ext. 2043)
E: B.Fidler@dwstadium.com

External

FA Safeguarding Team

Tel: 0800 169 1863 (Ext. 4809)
E: safeguarding@thefa.com

Wigan Duty Team
(Social Care)
Tel: 01942 828300 / 01942 828777
24 Hour NSPCC/FA Helpline Tel: 0800 023 2642

Police

Public Protection Investigation Unit

Tel: 999 (Emergency)
       101 (Non-Emergency)

Tel: 
0161 872 5050
NSPCC Safeguarding Children and Vulnerable
Adults Helpline
Tel: 0808 800 5000

Text Phone for Deaf Users:
0800 056 0566