Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


19 June 2013

A summary of those key dates for Wigan Athletic.

It's an away start for Latics in their first Football League Championship season since 2004/05 with a trip to Barnsley's Oakwell on Saturday August 3.

Latics will then take on Manchester United in the Community Shield at Wembley Stadium on August 11 before a second away game in the Championship against AFC Bournemouth on August 17.

Our first home game of the season will see newly promoted Doncaster Rovers arrive at the DW Stadium on Tuesday August 20 before another home game four days later against Middlesbrough.

It's a Lancashire bonanza in the final three games of the season with Burnley (A) April 21, Blackpool (H) April 26 and the finale against Blackburn Rovers (A) May 3.

Those all important local derby games against Bolton Wanderers are on December 15 (H) and March 29 (A).

The festive period has brought about a first home Boxing Day game since 2009 when Latics drew 1-1 with Blackburn, with 2013 seeing Latics host Birmingham City.

New Year's Day is a trip to Pride Park to take on Derby County, with the home game taking place a month earlier on December 1.


Latics will play Yeovil Town for the first time ever on Sunday November 10 and will meet with Leicester City for only the third time on September 14.

Our last trip to opening day opponents Barnsley was in September 2002 when Andy Liddell, Matt Jackson and Scott Green all scored in a 3-1 victory.

A win was also secured in our last home league meeting with this season's first home league opponents Doncaster Rovers in December 1996.

Wayne Biggins, Gavin Johnson, Andy Saville and Graeme Jones all scored in a 4-1 win at Springfield Park, those four goals helping towards a tally of 94 goals in total between the two teams in all competitions, the joint highest between Latics and another team along with Blackpool.

Fixtures scheduled directly after proposed Europa League group stage games are subject to change from Saturday to Sunday, those include Ipswich (H), Blackburn (H), Charlton (A), Yeovil (A), Derby (H), Bolton (H).

Advertisement block