Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Match Previews


20 September 2013

Latics prepare for the visit of Mick McCarthy's Ipswich Town

Wigan Athletic v Ipswich Town
Sky Bet Championship
Sunday 22 September 2013, kick off 3.00pm
DW Stadium


Tickets for the game are on sale until 5pm on Friday and between 9am and midday on Saturday from the DW Stadium ticket office. Tickets will also be available on the day from 10am from the main ticket office and from midday from the East Stand ticket office.  Tickets are also available 24/7 online at and by calling 0871 66 33 552*.

Match Preview

Wigan Athletic landed back in the UK in the early hours of Friday morning following their first ever European match against Zulte Waregem on Thursday night in Belgium and duly reported for training later on Friday morning, the kind of turnaround that Owen Coyle's side will have to become accustomed this season.

The manager however did make seven changes to his starting line with a number of first team regulars rested including Jean Beausejour, Roger Espinoza, Marc Antoine-Fortune and Ben Watson  all on the bench along with Shaun Maloney who did not travel to Belgium.

This will be the first league meeting between these two side since the 04/05 season when both sides won their home fixtures.  The side did meet in the League Cup in 2008 when Latics were 4-1 winners.

Matchday Live is free to view online by [clicking here]

Team News

With a number of players rested for Thursday night there could be a similar number of changes with the likes of Shaun Maloney and Jean Beausejour likely to return to the side.  Grant Holt remains the main injury problem for Latics with Gary Caldwell, Ivan Ramis and Ali Al Habsi all still on the long term list, although Ivan Ramis has been working with the main group in training.

Ipswich Town team news to follow.

Last League Line Ups

Wigan Athletic (v Leicester City [A] L2-0):
S Carson, L Barnett, E Boyce, J Beausejour, T Rogne, B Watson yellow card, J Perch, J Gomez (N Powell, 55), R Espinoza (C McManaman, 55), S Maloney (J McClean, 62), M Fortune.
Subs not used: C McCann, R Shotton, L Nicholls, J McArthur

Leicester City (v Yeovil Town [H] W2-1):
D Gerken, L Chambers, C Berra, T Smith, A Cresswell, C Skuse, C Edwards, L Hyam, R Tunnicliffe (J Tabb, 78), D Murphy, D McGoldrick.
Subs not used: S Loach, A Wordsworth, F Nouble, P Taylor, F Veseli, E Hewitt.

Form Guide


Match Referee: James Adcock
Assistant Referees: Nicholas Gibbons and Jason Whiteley
Fourth Official: Barry Cropp

Everybody Else
(Saturday 3pm unless stated)

Charlton v Millwall, Sat 12.15
Barnsley v Watford
Birmingham v Sheff Weds
Blackburn v Huddersfield
BLackpool v Leicester
Brighton v Bolton
Derby v Reading
Doncaster v Nottingham Forest
Leeds v Burnley
Middlesbrough v Bournemouth
Yevil v QPR

Advertisement block