Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


18 April 2016

Captain Morgan named in Football League Team of the Season.

  • Craig Morgan named in Team of the Season at Football League awards.
  • Award recognises 11 outstanding players across all three divisions.
  • Spot in team "great for Morgs" says Gary Caldwell.
Latics captain Craig Morgan was last night named in the Football League’s Football Manager Team of the Season at the Football League Awards 2016.

For the first time, the award recognised 11 outstanding players and one manager who have excelled across the three divisions of the Sky Bet Football League this season. 

Based on a 4-3-3 formation, the team was selected after a local media representative (nominated by each club) selected their own team from the division their club played in. The selections were then put together to create a shortlist of players for each position, which a national judging panel then chose the final ‘Football Manager Team of the Season’ with Opta’s player statistics assisting the selection process. 

The full Football Manager Team of the season is as follows:

Goalkeeper: Adam Smith (Northampton Town)
Right Back: Bruno (Brighton & Hove Albion)
Left Back: George Friend (Middlesbrough)
Centre Back: Craig Morgan (Wigan Athletic)
Centre Back: Daniel Ayala (Middlesbrough)
Midfield: Alan Judge (Brentford)
Midfield: Bradley Dack (Gillingham)
Midfield: Joey Barton (Burnley)
Forward: Kemar Roofe (Oxford United)
Forward: Nicky Ajose (Swindon Town)
Forward: Andre Gray (Burnley)

Manager: Chris Wilder (Northampton)

Speaking at the awards ceremony Shaun Harvey, Chief Executive of The Football League, said: "During another action packed Football League season it is important to acknowledge outstanding performances, both on and off the pitch.
“We’re delighted to recognise this special group of nominees who have shown exceptional levels of talent, dedication and achievement.  Congratulations to everyone who was nominated and particularly our winners, all of whom are deserving of their accolade.”

Advertisement block