Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


17 May 2016

Gary Caldwell scoops League One award at LMA Awards.

  • Gary Caldwell named Sky Bet League One Manager of the Year by the LMA.
  • Caldwell scoops award in first full season as Latics' boss.
  • Award presented at the LMA Annual Awards Dinner on Monday night.

Wigan Athletic manager Gary Caldwell has been named as the Sky Bet League One Manager of the Year at the 2016 League Manager's Association Annual Awards Dinner which took place on Monday evening.

Voted for by fellow managers in Sky Bet League One, Caldwell led Latics to promotion back to the Sky Bet Championship as the division's champions at the first time of asking, all in his first full season in management.

The Sky Bet League One Manager of the Year is Gary Caldwell.

— LMA (@LMA_Managers) May 16, 2016

During the 2015-16 season Latics won 26 matches, drew 16 and lost just nine, only two of which came in the current calendar year.

After relegation from the Championship in 2014-15, Caldwell reconstructed Latics' squad during the summer, handing 13 debuts to players during the opening match of the season away at Coventry City, and bringing in 28 new faces in total.

Latics twice stretched to impressive unbeaten runs, with 10 games running from mid-September to the start of November, before going 20 matches unbeaten in the league from mid-December to mid-April.

Latics finished the campaign on 87 points as the league's top goal scorers with 82, 25 of which came from leading marksmen Will Grigg.

Caldwell's side were also awarded multiple seasonal honours, with Craig Morgan, Reece Wabara, Yanic Wildschut and Grigg all named in the PFA League One Team of the Year, with Morgan named in the Football Manager Team of the Season across all three divisions.

David Perkins, Max Power and Sam Morsy also joined Morgan, Wildschut and Grigg in the top 15 Sky Bet League One players of 2015-16 as chosen by the division's managers.

Advertisement block