Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


8 May 2016

It's official! We are the champions!

  • Wigan Athletic win the Sky Bet League One title.
  • Latics officially crowned champions after final day against Barnsley.
  • Gary Caldwell steers Latics to second third tier crown.

Wigan Athletic are the 2015-16 Sky Bet League One champions following a superb season in which Gary Caldwell steered his newly formed squad to the top of the third tier, finishing on 87 points and heading back to the Sky Bet Championship!

Latics secured promotion at the first attempt with their 4-0 victory away at Blackpool last weekend, before officially becoming champions despite a final day 4-1 defeat to Barnsley at the DW Stadium.

The players came out from the tunnel one-by-one to a rapturous applause, including Juan Carlos Garcia, who continues his fight against leukaemia - with club captain Craig Morgan the final man out.

Our very own Captain Morgan made his way to the podium and hoisted the Sky Bet League One Trophy into the air; to cap off what has been a remarkable season, and a complete pleasure to watch.

Advertisement block