Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


9 November 2016

Latics midfielder makes a second shortlist at the North West Football Awards.

  • Max Power's goal versus Chesterfield in January 2016 shortlisted for Goal of the Year.
  • Latics midfielder receives second award nomination, after previously named on Rising Star list.
  • Voting for Goal of the Year opens at the MBNA North West Football Awards ceremony on Monday 14 November.

Max Power's sensational strike during Latics' 3-1 victory over Chesterfield on the way to the Sky Bet League One title in the 2015/16 season has been shortlisted for MBNA Goal of the Year at next Monday's North West Football Awards ceremony at Lancashire County Cricket Club.

The MBNA Northwest Football Awards – which celebrate all things good in the region’s football world, from grass roots to the Premier League and the treatment table to the Boardroom – take place on Monday 14 November at a glitzy black tie event in Manchester.

To submit a vote, fans should @mention @NWFAwards and @MBNA with the #hashtag assigned to their selected favourite goal:

The voting for the MBNA Goal of the Year will take place on the evening of the awards via Twitter with votes counted from 6.30 pm.

#MBNAGoalA for Georgia Stanway - Liverpool Ladies v Manchester City Women, 19th March 2016
#MBNAGoalB for Anthony Martial - Manchester United v Liverpool, 12th September 2015
#MBNAGoalC for Max Power - Wigan Athletic v Chesterfield, 16th January 2016
#MBNAGoalD for Paul Gallagher - Charlton Athletic v Preston North End, 20th October 2015
#MBNAGoalE for Romelu Lukaku - Everton v Chelsea, 12th March 2016
#MBNAGoalF for Zach Clough - Bolton Wanderers v QPR, 20th February 2016

The winner will be announced on the night.

Please note that voting doesn't opening until 6.30pm on Monday 14 November, any votes cast before 6.30pm will not be counted.

Power has also been nominated for the Rising Star of the Year award, with fellow midfielder David Perkins in the running for League One Player of the Year.

Wigan Athletic Community Trust and Academy also play a prominent role in the shortlists for the NWFAs, with the following nominees:

Community Initiative of the Year, in association with the PFA - Pathway 2 Participation
Community Club of the Year, All other League, in association with the PFA - Wigan Athletic Community Trust
Unsung Hero Award - Frank Melling (Wigan Athletic Community Trust/Academy)

For more information about the North West Football Awards [click here].

Advertisement block