Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


16 April 2018

Latics represented in the EFL Team of the Season by wing back Nathan Byrne.

  • EFL Team of the Season: Nathan Byrne named in overall team.
  • Four Latics players named in League One Team of the Season.
  • Byrne stars alongside the likes of Ruben Neves, Ryan Sessegnon and Conor Coady.

Congratulations are in order to Latics full back Nathan Byrne, who was named in the EFL Football Manager Team of the Season for 2017-18 at the EFL Awards in London on Sunday evening.

The 25-year-old was named in the League One Team of the Season alongside team mates Dan Burn, Samy Morsy and Nick Powell, and was chosen from our division to represent Latics in the overall EFL team.

Byrne, who has featured in all but one of Latics' League One matches so far this season and has competed in over 4,000 minutes of football, has five assists to his name and has contributed to 24 clean sheets in the league.

Speaking to iFollow Latics on Monday morning, Latics boss Paul Cook praised Byrne by saying:

"Nathan has had an outstanding season, as have a lot of our players, but personal recognition is always good and it's nice for him.

"I'm sure Nathan will be the first to add that we don't aim for recognition like that at our club, we aim to be in it together and we'll continue to work towards what we want to achieve as a team.

"It's a well done from me to Nathan, and we will keep going to add to his achievement."

The EFL Football Manager Team of the Season 2017-18 in full is as follows:

GK - John Ruddy (Wolverhampton Wanderers)
DEF - Ryan Sessegnon (Fulham)
DEF - Charlie Mulgrew (Blackburn Rovers)
DEF - Conor Coady (Wolverhampton Wanderers)
DEF - Nathan Byrne (Wigan Athletic)
MID - Bradley Dack (Blackburn Rovers)
MID - Ruben Neves (Wolverhampton Wanderers)
MID - James Maddison (Norwich City)
ATT - Bobby Reid (Bristol City)
ATT - Adebayo Akinfenwa (Wycombe Wanderers)
ATT - Billy Kee (Accrington Stanley)

Buy Wigan Athletic v Oxford United Tickets

Advertisement block