Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Academy

WIGAN ATHLETIC DEVELOPMENT SQUAD TO RETURN FOR THE 2018-19 SEASON

31 July 2018

Wigan Athletic will enter a development squad into the Central League fixture programme in the 2018-19 season.

  • Wigan Athletic Development Squad to return for the 2018-19 season
  • Latics will enter the Central League and Central League Cup fixture programme
  • Academy Manager Gregor Rioch: “Having the development group this season will aid the progress of our academy players and their pathway to the first team.”

Wigan Athletic will be returning to the Central League fixture programme for the 2018-19 season.

Latics will play U23/Development Squad fixtures against fellow EFL clubs in a league format, which will allow the club’s under-18s to benefit from more senior football and also allow Paul Cook to use members of his squad in the fixtures, should they require match minutes.

The clubs Latics will face include Notts County, Grimsby Town, Port Vale, Mansfield Town, Rotherham United, Morecambe and Doncaster Rovers.

Speaking about the re-introduction of the development squad, Academy Manager Gregor Rioch said:

“Having the development group this season will aid the progress of our academy players and their pathway to the first team.

“We will be recruiting some players to this group but it will mainly be made up of our young professionals, second-year scholars and first team players who need match minutes on a match-to-match basis.

“It’s important our young players see a pathway to the first team and this fixture programme gives them something to aim for in terms of senior football as the next step in their progression.

“Equally so, the more second-year scholars involved with the development squad will allow our under-16s and first-year scholars the opportunity to play in the under-18s’ programme.”

2018-19 Wigan Athletic Development Squad Fixtures

Tue 11 Sept – Notts County – Ilkeston Town FC – 2pm
Tue 18 Sept – Grimsby Town – Christopher Park – 1pm
Wed 17 Oct – Port Vale – TBC – 1pm
Tue 20 Nov – Mansfield Town – Christopher Park – 1pm
Tue 4 Dec – Rotherham United – TBC – 1pm
Tue 15 Jan – Morecambe – Christopher Park – 1pm
Tue 29 Jan – Doncaster Rovers – Christopher Park – 1pm
Tue 5 Feb – Notts County – Christopher Park – 2pm
Tue 19 Feb – Grimsby Town – Blundell Park – 2pm
Tue 5 Mar – Port Vale – Christopher Park – 1pm
Tue 19 Mar – Mansfield Town – TBC – 1pm
Tue 26 Mar – Doncaster Rovers – TBC – 1pm
Tue 16 Apr – Rotherham United – Christopher Park – 1pm
Tue 23 Apr – Morecambe – Globe Arena – 1pm

*Dates, kick-off times and venues are subject to change over the course of the season. Check out wiganathletic.com ahead of each fixture for any changes to the above matches.


Advertisement block