Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


27 April 2019

Sponsored by

Breaking team news from Latics' final away fixture of the season at Birmingham City.

  • Sky Bet Championship Team News: Birmingham City v Wigan Athletic.
  • Jones, Kipre, Olsson, Gibson, Windass, Powell and Garner all come in.
  • Under 18 starlets Joe Gelhardt, Jensen Weir and Adam Long are included on the bench.

Latics have made seven changes to their starting XI from Easter Monday's 2-0 victory over Preston North End at the DW Stadium, with Jamie Jones back between the sticks in place of Christian Walton, whilst Cedric Kipre returns from suspension in defence alongside Jonas Olsson who captains Latics in Samy Morsy's absence. Darron Gibson joins the midfield, with a front three of Josh Windass, Nick Powell and Joe Garner drafted in.

Danny Fox, Samy Morsy, Reece James, Gavin Massey, Kal Naismith and Leon Clarke all come out.

Anthony Pilkington makes the bench following a recent injury, whilst Academy stars Joe Gelhardt, Jensen Weir and Adam Long are involved in a Championship squad for the first time amongst the substitutes.

Midfielder Weir was Latics' youngest ever first team player when he featured in the Checkatrade Trophy as a 15-year-old against Accrington Stanley in November 2017. The England youth international also featured alongside his Three Lions team mate Joe Gelhardt when the pair featured as substitutes against Rotherham United in the Carabao Cup earlier this season.

Gelhardt has 21 goals in all competitions across the Under 18s and Development Squad this season.

Defender Long (18), who hails from the Isle of Man, made his first team debut in Latics' 4-1 Checkatrade Trophy win against Middlesbrough in October 2017.

Callum McManaman and Michael Jacobs remain sidelined through injury.

Birmingham City: Camp, Pedersen, Roberts, Colin, Adams, Jutkiewicz (Capt), G.Gardner, Jota, Davis, Mrabti, Harding
Subs: Trueman, Mahoney, Vassell, Maghoma, Dacres-Cogley, Lakin, C.Gardner

Latics: Jones, Dunkley, Olsson (Capt), Kipre, Byrne, Robinson, Gibson, Evans, Windass, Garner, Powell
Subs: Walton, Pilkington, Roberts, Naismith, Long, Gelhardt, Weir

Millwall H

Advertisement block